Skip to content
DefDex

Other · Land

Patriot

Ground-based air and missile defense system.

by RTX · First fielded 1984

FieldedOtherLandFielded1984

Ground-based air and missile defense system. The system employs several interceptor families, including PAC-3 MSE.

Timeline2

  1. First deliveryConfirmed

    First Patriot missile delivered

    Delivery of the missile element, not completion of an entire operational battery.

  2. FieldedConfirmed

    Patriot first fielded to U.S. forces

The latest 10 milestones. Solid entries are confirmed, outlined reported, dashed estimated or still to come; dotted italic entries are speculative. Dates show only the precision the sources give.

In Service

First fielded
1984

Cost to the Government

Weapon systems · RTX / Lockheed Martin

Patriot air and missile defense system

Compare platform costs →

A configurable battery has no single verified unit price here; modernization funding and a specified foreign equipment package provide concrete cost evidence.

Comparable unit price

Not verified

No comparable standalone unit price was established; package or contract totals are shown separately.

Historical U.S. Patriot battalions

15

FY2025 budget book · March 2024 · U.S. only; stated source scope

Historical force description; battalions are not batteries, launchers, or current ready units.

DoD Comptroller ↗

U.S. procurement quantity

Not verified

No comparable U.S. procurement quantity was established in this review.

R&D program total

Not verified

A lifetime program R&D total was not established. Development contracts and shared program budgets are not substituted for that total.

Cost & funding breakdown

Patriot modifications budget

$757.8M

FY2026 · PB2026 · Nominal USD; source budget basis

Army Missile Procurement line 29. Modernization program funding, not a new-battery price; FY2026 is the request.

U.S. Army ↗

Shared Patriot / PAC-3 / LTAMDS annual RDT&E

$317.9M / yr

FY2025 request · Nominal USD; source budget basis

Broader weapon-system book category. Not attributable solely to Patriot, PAC-3 MSE, or LTAMDS; do not add this to their development figures.

DoD Comptroller ↗

Specify what a battery package contains

The Romanian notification enumerates the equipment rather than a universal battery configuration. Launcher count, interceptor type, radar, training and support must be specified before comparing package prices.

A complete Patriot package contains several products

The German award includes radar, launchers, control equipment, spares and support. PAC-3 MSE interceptor and LTAMDS radar costs have separate profiles and cannot be assumed to be included in this award.

Operations & sustainment

Annual operations & support

Not verified

A complete, system-specific annual operating and support cost was not established. Procurement, replacement rounds and contract support are different measures.

Cost over time · 3 observations

Each row retains its original scope and dollar basis. Changing quantities, service life and inflation can change the estimate without changing the price of building one unit.

Patriot air and missile defense system cost history
ObservationMeasureAmountDollar basisEvidence
FY2024 · PB2026Patriot modifications budget

Army Missile Procurement line 29. Modernization program funding, not a new-battery price; FY2026 is the request.

$262.447MNominal USD; source budget basisU.S. Army ↗
FY2025 · PB2026Patriot modifications budget

Army Missile Procurement line 29. Modernization program funding, not a new-battery price; FY2026 is the request.

$171.958MNominal USD; source budget basisU.S. Army ↗
FY2026 · PB2026Patriot modifications budget

Army Missile Procurement line 29. Modernization program funding, not a new-battery price; FY2026 is the request.

$757.8MNominal USD; source budget basisU.S. Army ↗
Contracts & purchasing · 2 records

Award values, ceilings and purchase agreements have different meanings. These records are not added together as total spending.

  • 2025-04-28 · Maximum proposed FMS package

    Romania → RTX / Lockheed Martin

    $280M · quantity not established

    One radar, one engagement-control station, two M903 launch stations, one power plant and support. Notification does not establish a signed sale, a full standard battery price or missile procurement.

    DSCA ↗
  • 2024-03-21 · Production award announced

    Germany → RTX / Raytheon

    $1.2B · quantity not established

    Patriot equipment package includes radars, launchers, command-and-control stations, spares and support. Not a standalone battery or interceptor price.

    RTX ↗

International buyers

  • Romania · Quantity not verified · Proposed equipment package · 2025-04-28

    Two launch stations are included, not two batteries. The $280M notification includes a radar, control station, power and support.

    DSCA ↗
  • Germany · Quantity not verified · Production award announced · 2024-03-21

    The manufacturer release does not disclose a system quantity.

    RTX ↗
Coverage & open research
  • Current U.S. inventory and complete annual operating-and-support costs require additional public evidence.
  • Buyer records are selected examples, not a complete global order book.
  • Unit cost (per unit)Reported
    $1.10B
    Estimate / observation: 2022-12-16 · Then-year $ · 1 unit

    Unit = one newly produced Patriot battery (US cost), CSIS estimate (Cancian/Karako): ~$1.1B total = ~$400M for the system (radar, launchers, control/support equipment) + ~$690M for the missiles (initial load plus two reloads, mix of PAC-2/PAC-3). CSIS also cites ~$1.27B per new US Patriot battalion excluding missiles. Same figures repeated in CRS IF12297 (Jan 2023). Official figures not published.

    Source
  • Contract unit priceEstimated
    $425M
    Estimate / observation: 2025-12-23 · 4 units · Spain

    Unit = one Patriot air and missile defense system (fire unit) for Spain. Raytheon contract worth $1.7B to deliver four Patriot systems (Reuters). Derived: 1,700,000,000 / 4 = $425M per system; contract scope may include training, support and spares; interceptor content not stated.

    Source
Budget by fiscal year
Fiscal yearAppropriationRequestEnactedQtyBudget lineSource
FY2027RDT&E$439M———SourceConfirmed
FY2027Procurement$2.84B———SourceConfirmed
FY2027Total$3.28B———SourceConfirmed
FY2026RDT&E$480M$439M——SourceEstimated
FY2026Procurement$2.02B$1.30B——SourceConfirmed
FY2026Total$2.50B$1.74B——SourceConfirmed
FY2025RDT&E—$338M——SourceConfirmed
FY2025Procurement—$566M——SourceConfirmed
FY2025Total—$904M——SourceConfirmed

Unit costs and contract unit prices for this system, and budget figures for the programs that buy it. Each figure states its dollar basis and links its source; contract values are under Programs & awards.

Built With1