Blog
DroneShield: $500 M Announced, $0 M Obligated So Far
An announced ceiling of $500 million. Nothing is reported for this PIID as of October 6, 2026.
Intro
What is announced on the DroneShield counter-UAS contract, and what has USAspending reported so far?
The headline number is an announced ceiling of $500,000,000 on W912CH-26-D-A082. DefDex serving data is as of 2026-10-06. Nothing is reported for this PIID, so obligated so far is $0. The ceiling is not spending. The announcement states no dollar amount obligated at award.
Key takeaways
- The September 29, 2026 list states an announced ceiling of $500,000,000 on W912CH-26-D-A082.
- The same award is on the September 28, 2026 list, marked awarded September 28.
- Obligated so far is $0: no serving row matches that PIID as of 2026-10-06.
- The paragraph does not state an at-award obligation, and no zero is invented in its place.
The Announcement
The Department of War contracts list for September 29, 2026 says: "DroneShield LLC, Warrenton, Virginia, was awarded a $500,000,000 firm-fixed-price, indefinite-delivery/indefinite-quantity contract for commercial counter-unmanned aerial systems and counter small-unmanned aerial systems capabilities." The PIID is W912CH-26-D-A082. The list marks it awarded Sept. 28, 2026. The contracting activity is Army Contracting Command, Detroit Arsenal, Michigan. The paragraph does not state a dollar amount obligated at award. It says work locations and funding will be determined with each order. The September 28 list carries the same paragraph without a period after the awarded-date parenthesis.
Obligated So Far
Nothing is reported for this PIID. public.summary_awards has no row whose piid or parent_piid is W912CH-26-D-A082 or W912CH26DA082. Obligated so far is $0. No at-award dollar is invented to fill the announcement's silence.
Buying Office
No buying office is on a serving row. The announcement names Army Contracting Command, Detroit Arsenal, Michigan.
What to Watch
Orders under W912CH-26-D-A082. Funding on those orders is the reported obligation. The ceiling is the ordering limit.
Reporting Lag
DoD contract actions appear about 90 days late, so "obligated so far" means "reported so far." An award dated September 28 can be missing from a file dated October 6.
Coverage
Serving generation 20261023T015323Z, source data as of 2026-10-06, loaded 2026-10-23 00:06 Pacific, public build 89 at 2026-10-23 21:16 Pacific: 4,057,578 promoted awards and 12,424,350 actions, DoD, DHS, DOE, and NASA, FY2008–FY2027, including negative and zero actions. Every IDV is promoted. A definitive contract is promoted at $100,000 of gross positive obligations. The newest action date, including agency 097, is 2026-10-02, and that is not a complete file through that day. Flood insurance (CFDA 97.022), DHS disaster assistance, and non-research assistance are separate lines and are not in this award. This note states no requested amount and no enacted amount. The dollars it does state are an announced ceiling or an obligation, and those two are not added.
Links
Company profile: DroneShield. This PIID is not attached to it. No program slug counter-uas or counter-uav exists, so there is no program page. There is no DefDex award page and no USAspending award page for this PIID. A keyword search on 2026-10-24 returned no row.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the $500 million spending?
Was any money obligated at award?
Why is there no award page?
Which contracts list is the source?
Sources & methodology
U.S. Department of War, Contracts for Sept. 29, 2026, https://www.war.gov/News/Contracts/Contract/Article/4614270/contracts-for-sept-29-2026/. The Sept. 28 list is https://www.war.gov/News/Contracts/Contract/Article/4614322/contracts-for-sept-28-2026/. Paragraph: research.dod_announcement_awards, loaded 2026-10-24 00:09 Pacific. Obligated so far: public.summary_awards, generation 20261023T015323Z, as of 2026-10-06, queried 2026-10-24 as defdex_site_ro. Exact match on piid and parent_piid, hyphenated and compact. No row.
