Program · United States · U.S. Navy
Ohio-class Guided Missile Submarine (SSGN)
Ohio-class guided missile submarine (SSGN) · Fielded · U.S. Navy
Cost to the Government
| Measure | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Program totals · 1 | ||
| Conversion R&D fundingCRS table of Navy funding, rounded; not R&D for the original Ohio class. | $336MThen-year $ | Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure FY2000–FY2013 table |
| Unit costs · 1 | ||
| Refueling + conversion / boat, approximatelyCRS rounded $4B program total divided across four boats; includes development and excludes original SSBN construction. | $1BThen-year $ | Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure Oct 2008 |
| Quantities · 2 | ||
| SSGN force snapshotDated CRS count, not a guarantee that all four remain operational today. | 4U.S. only | Virginia-class attack submarines and AUKUS, FY2026 budget CRS · figure Start FY2026 |
| Conversion program quantityFour existing hulls converted; not four newly constructed submarines. | 4U.S. only | Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure Oct 2008 |
| Operating costs · 1 | ||
| Annual O&S / SSGN estimateHistorical 20-year operating-cost estimate; not observed annual spending. | $44.4M / yrConstant FY2005 $ | Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure 1999 estimate, rebased in CRS 2008 |
Program totals · 1
- Conversion R&D fundingCRS table of Navy funding, rounded; not R&D for the original Ohio class.Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure FY2000–FY2013 table$336MThen-year $
Unit costs · 1
- Refueling + conversion / boat, approximatelyCRS rounded $4B program total divided across four boats; includes development and excludes original SSBN construction.Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure Oct 2008$1BThen-year $
Quantities · 2
- SSGN force snapshotDated CRS count, not a guarantee that all four remain operational today.Virginia-class attack submarines and AUKUS, FY2026 budget CRS · figure Start FY20264U.S. only
- Conversion program quantityFour existing hulls converted; not four newly constructed submarines.Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure Oct 20084U.S. only
Operating costs · 1
- Annual O&S / SSGN estimateHistorical 20-year operating-cost estimate; not observed annual spending.Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure 1999 estimate, rebased in CRS 2008$44.4M / yrConstant FY2005 $
Earlier observations · 2
Superseded estimates and prices, each in its original scope and dollar basis.
| Measure | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Four-boat conversion estimateEarly estimate quoted retrospectively; do not interpret the change as inflation-adjusted growth. | $2.4BBasis not stated | Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure 1999–2000 estimate |
| Conversion funding totalR&D + shipbuilding + other procurement, across four boats. | $4.046BThen-year $ | Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure 2008 funding table |
- Four-boat conversion estimateEarly estimate quoted retrospectively; do not interpret the change as inflation-adjusted growth.Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure 1999–2000 estimate$2.4BBasis not stated
- Conversion funding totalR&D + shipbuilding + other procurement, across four boats.Trident submarine conversion program, October 2, 2008, Table 1 CRS · figure 2008 funding table$4.046BThen-year $
Open research: A platform-specific contract award with verified date, value and scope remains to be added. Quantity and cost figures retain their source dates. Historical snapshots are not a census of operational availability on the review date. No international purchase record verified in this profile; this is not proof that no foreign operators exist.
What the government budgets and pays for this program, from budget justification books, appropriations, acquisition reports and contract announcements. Each figure states its dollar basis. What contractors were obligated is under Contracts.
Contracts$61.0M obligated since FY2008
Contractors3
- General Dynamics$60.8M 100%
- HII$177K 0.3%
- Northrop Grumman$58K 0.1%
Awards6
- General Dynamics Electric BoatLOCK-OUT CHAMBER GAS SAMPLINGU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Mar 10, 2010$42Kobligated
- General Dynamics Information TechnologyPROGRAM MANAGEMENT FOR SUBMARINE PROGRAMSU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Mar 20, 2009$670Kobligated
- General Dynamics Electric BoatELECTRIC BOATU.S. Navy · Definitive Contract · Jun 20, 2008$59.9Mobligated
- General Dynamics Information TechnologyPROGRAM AND ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT FOR NSWCCD C/963U.S. Navy · Delivery Order · May 12, 2008$186Kobligated
- HII Mission Technologies Corp.200609!SS4142!1700!N62793!SUPERVISOR OF SHIPBLDG CONVERSIO!N0017805D4231 !A!N! !N!4T01 ! !20060608!20070607!609570742!609570742!609570742!N!CAMBER CORPORATION !635 DISCOVERY DR !HUNTSVILLE !AL!35806!56000!700!51!NEWPORT NEWS !NEWPORT NEWS (CITY) !VIRGINIA !+000000238222!N!N!000000000000!R421!TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE !S1 !SERVICES !337 !SSGN !541330!E! !5!B!M! !A!D!20090331!B! ! !A! !A!N!U!2!021!B! !Z!N!Z! ! !N!C!N! ! ! !B!B!A!A!000!A!C!N! ! ! ! !1700!N00178!0001! !U.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Mar 31, 2008$177Kobligated
- Northrop Grumman Systems CorporationNAVY REQUIREMENT...ORDER INCORRECTLY SHOWED AS ORDER 0003U.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Mar 13, 2008$58Kobligated · up to $5.7M ceiling
Obligations are signed USAspending prime-contract actions coded to this program, FY2008 to date, credited to the company that received each action. Obligations are money committed, not company revenue.
