ChatGPT Mil
OpenAI ChatGPT version for Department of War users on GenAI.mil, accredited at IL5.
- Unveiled
- Aug 31, 2026


Startup · United States
HQ San Francisco
Frontier AI model developer; its OpenAI Public Sector unit holds a CDAO prototype agreement for national security AI.
| Announced | Stage | Valuation | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 2, 2024 | Series E+ | $157.00B | Post-money |
| Mar 31, 2025 | Series E+ | $300.00B | Post-money |
| Oct 2, 2025 | Secondary | $500.00B | Basis not stated |
| Feb 27, 2026 | Series E+ | $852.00B | Post-money |
| Aug 10, 2026 | Secondary | $852.00B | Basis not stated |
| Announced | Stage | Amount | Valuation | Lead investors | Other investors | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10, 2026 | Secondary | $7.00B | $852.00B? | — | — | Reported |
| Feb 27, 2026 | Series E+ | $122.00B | $852.00B | Andreessen Horowitz, D. E. Shaw Ventures, MGX, SoftBank Group, TPG, T. Rowe Price | Altimeter Capital, Amazon, BlackRock, Blackstone, Coatue Management, D1 Capital Partners, Dragoneer Investment Group, Fidelity Management & Research Company, Insight Partners, Microsoft, NVIDIA, Sequoia Capital, Thrive Capital | Confirmed |
| Oct 2, 2025 | Secondary | $6.60B | $500.00B? | — | — | Reported |
| Mar 31, 2025 | Series E+ | $40.00B | $300.00B | SoftBank Group | Altimeter Capital, Coatue Management, Microsoft, Thrive Capital | Confirmed |
| Nov 26, 2024 | Secondary | $1.50B | — | SoftBank Group | — | Reported |
| Oct 2, 2024 | Series E+ | $6.60B | $157.00B | Thrive Capital | Altimeter Capital, Fidelity Management & Research Company, Khosla Ventures, MGX, Microsoft, NVIDIA, SoftBank Group, Tiger Global Management | Confirmed |
| Jan 23, 2023 | Strategic | Undisclosed | — | Microsoft | — | Confirmed |
| Jul 22, 2019 | Strategic | $1.00B | — | Microsoft | — | Confirmed |
Raised counts equity rounds; debt, secondary sales and grants are totaled separately. Amounts in other currencies are converted at the announcement month's average rate. A ~ marks an estimated or converted amount.
OpenAI ChatGPT version for Department of War users on GenAI.mil, accredited at IL5.
AI agents with cloud computers and connected-app tools, rolling out through ChatGPT.
Newest unveiled first. Open a system for its milestone timeline, components and sources.
| Company | Stage | Role | Announced | Round size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debt | Lead | — | $1.00B |
One row per round this investor joined. Round size is the whole round, not this investor's share.
Founder
Founder
Founder
president
U.S. Department of War · Jun 16, 2025 · Supports Organization
“OpenAI Public Sector LLC, San Francisco, California, has been awarded a fixed amount, prototype, other transaction agreement (HQ0883-25-9-0012) with a value of $200,000,000.”
U.S. Department of War · Aug 31, 2026 · Supports System
“The Department of War today launched OpenAI's ChatGPT Mil, marking it as the next frontier AI capability housed on GenAI.mil, the Department's premier generative AI platform.”
OpenAI · Supports System
“**Dots are remarkably capable, always-on agents built to handle everything.**”
CNBC · Aug 10, 2026 · Supports Funding round · amount, Funding round · post money valuation usd
“completed a secondary share sale totaling roughly $7 billion, allowing current and former employees to sell stock at the company's $852 billion valuation”
OpenAI · Mar 31, 2026 · Supports Funding round, Funding round · amount, Funding round · post money valuation usd
“SoftBank co-led the round alongside a16z, D. E. Shaw Ventures, MGX, TPG, and accounts advised by T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc.”
OpenAI · Feb 27, 2026 · Supports Funding round · amount
“$110B in new investment at a $730B pre-money valuation”
CNBC · Oct 2, 2025 · Supports Funding round · amount, Funding round · post money valuation usd
“OpenAI has finalized a secondary share sale totaling $6.6 billion, allowing current and former employees to sell stock at a record $500 billion valuation”
OpenAI · Mar 31, 2025 · Supports Funding round · amount, Funding round · post money valuation usd
“$40 billion at a $300 billion post-money valuation”
CNBC · Nov 26, 2024 · Supports Funding round · amount
“OpenAI is allowing employees to sell about $1.5 billion worth of shares in a new tender offer to SoftBank”
OpenAI · Oct 2, 2024 · Supports Funding round · amount, Funding round · post money valuation usd
“We’ve raised $6.6B in new funding at a $157B post-money valuation”
Microsoft · Jan 23, 2023 · Supports Funding round · amount
“a multiyear, multibillion dollar investment”
Microsoft · Jul 22, 2019 · Supports Funding round · amount
“an investment of $1 billion from Microsoft”
CNBC · Supports Funding round
“Led by Thrive Capital, the round also had participation from Microsoft and Nvidia”
CNBC · Supports Funding round
“is leading the round with $30 billion, and is joined by a syndicate of other backers, including core investor Microsoft as well as Coatue, Altimeter and Thrive”
chamath.substack.com · Supports Role
“OpenAI was initially founded in 2015 by Sam Altman, Elon Musk, Ilya Sutskever and Greg Brockman as a non-profit organization with the stated goal to “advance digital intelligence in the way that is most likely to benefit humanity as a whole.””
observer.com · Supports Role
“Greg Brockman, president of OpenAI”
Each fact on this page is attached to the sources that support it. Archived copies are linked when we keep one.