
Program · United States · U.S. Air Force
B-21 Raider
Northrop Grumman stealth strategic bomber for the U.S. Air Force.
Timeline2
- UnveiledConfirmed
B-21 Raider unveiled in Palmdale
The Defense Department and Northrop Grumman revealed the bomber at a ceremony in Palmdale, California.
- First flightReported
First flight
The first B-21 flew from Air Force Plant 42 in Palmdale to Edwards Air Force Base.
Program and variant milestones. Dates show only the precision the sources give.
Cost to the Government
| Measure | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Program totals · 2 | ||
| U.S. inventoryThe minimum 100 in the fact sheet is a planned acquisition quantity. A dated inventory count is not established here. | Not established | — |
| R&D totalNo verified public total in the reviewed source. Do not estimate it by multiplying APUC by fleet size. | Not established | — |
| Unit costs · 1 | ||
| Average procurement / aircraftPublished APUC performance parameter, based on at least 100 aircraft; includes procurement support, training and spares, excludes R&D. Not a disclosed production-lot price. | $692MConstant FY2022 $ | B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure Fact sheet; 2022 dollar basis |
| Quantities · 1 | ||
| Minimum planned fleetMinimum target, not deliveries. | 100U.S. only | B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure Fact sheet; date not stated |
| Operating costs · 1 | ||
| Reimbursement / flight hourPublished reimbursement rate; not demonstrated fleet-wide operating cost or evidence of operational fielding. | $96,855 / hrNominal $; other DoD component | FY2026 aircraft hourly reimbursement rates, Other DoD Component column DoD Comptroller · figure FY2026 |
Program totals · 2
- U.S. inventoryThe minimum 100 in the fact sheet is a planned acquisition quantity. A dated inventory count is not established here.Source not recordedNot established
- R&D totalNo verified public total in the reviewed source. Do not estimate it by multiplying APUC by fleet size.Source not recordedNot established
Unit costs · 1
- Average procurement / aircraftPublished APUC performance parameter, based on at least 100 aircraft; includes procurement support, training and spares, excludes R&D. Not a disclosed production-lot price.B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure Fact sheet; 2022 dollar basis$692MConstant FY2022 $
Quantities · 1
- Minimum planned fleetMinimum target, not deliveries.B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure Fact sheet; date not stated100U.S. only
Operating costs · 1
- Reimbursement / flight hourPublished reimbursement rate; not demonstrated fleet-wide operating cost or evidence of operational fielding.FY2026 aircraft hourly reimbursement rates, Other DoD Component column DoD Comptroller · figure FY2026$96,855 / hrNominal $; other DoD component
Earlier observations · 3
Superseded estimates and prices, each in its original scope and dollar basis.
| Measure | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| APUC target, original dollar basisSame procurement parameter expressed in a different dollar year. | $550MConstant FY2010 $ | B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure 2010 dollar basis |
| APUC target, rebasedRe-expression of the parameter; not evidence of real cost growth. | $639MConstant FY2019 $ | B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure 2019 dollar basis |
| APUC target, rebasedDo not chart these three values as inflation-adjusted cost growth. | $692MConstant FY2022 $ | B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure 2022 dollar basis |
- APUC target, original dollar basisSame procurement parameter expressed in a different dollar year.B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure 2010 dollar basis$550MConstant FY2010 $
- APUC target, rebasedRe-expression of the parameter; not evidence of real cost growth.B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure 2019 dollar basis$639MConstant FY2019 $
- APUC target, rebasedDo not chart these three values as inflation-adjusted cost growth.B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure 2022 dollar basis$692MConstant FY2022 $
Contracts & purchasing · 1
Ceilings, options and purchase agreements are not spending and are never added together. Obligations are under Contracts.
| Buyer → seller | Status | Value | Qty | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. Air Force → Northrop GrummanEngineering and manufacturing development award; contract value not disclosed in the cited fact sheet. | Development award | Value not verified | — | B-21 Raider fact sheet U.S. Air Force · figure Oct 27, 2015 |
Open research: Production-lot prices, full R&D total, and a dated U.S. inventory count remain unverified.
What the government budgets and pays for this program, from budget justification books, appropriations, acquisition reports and contract announcements. Each figure states its dollar basis. What contractors were obligated is under Contracts.
