Skip to content
DefDex
A Patriot launcher firing an interceptor during an Army test

Program · United States

Patriot

Ground-based air and missile defense system.

Updated
Fielded

Timeline2

  1. First deliveryConfirmed

    First Patriot missile delivered

    Delivery of the missile element, not completion of an entire operational battery.

  2. FieldedConfirmed

    Patriot first fielded to U.S. forces

Program and variant milestones. Dates show only the precision the sources give.

Cost to the GovernmentFY2027 request $3.28B

Program totals · 3

  • Patriot modifications budgetArmy Missile Procurement line 29. Modernization program funding, not a new-battery price; FY2026 is the request.
    FY2026 Missile Procurement, Army: P-40, P-5 and P-5a exhibits U.S. Army · Jun 2025 · figure FY2026 · PB2026
    $757.8MNominal $; source budget basis
  • Shared Patriot / PAC-3 / LTAMDS annual RDT&EBroader weapon-system book category. Not attributable solely to Patriot, PAC-3 MSE, or LTAMDS; do not add this to their development figures.
    FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 request
    $317.9M / yrNominal $; source budget basis
  • R&D program totalA lifetime program R&D total was not established. Development contracts and shared program budgets are not substituted for that total.
    Source not recorded
    Not established

Unit costs · 3

  • Contract unit priceUnit = one Patriot air and missile defense system (fire unit) for Spain. Raytheon contract worth $1.7B to deliver four Patriot systems (Reuters). Derived: 1,700,000,000 / 4 = $425M per system; contract scope may include training, support and spares; interceptor content not stated.
    $425M4 units · ES
  • Unit cost (per unit)Unit = one newly produced Patriot battery (US cost), CSIS estimate (Cancian/Karako): ~$1.1B total = ~$400M for the system (radar, launchers, control/support equipment) + ~$690M for the missiles (initial load plus two reloads, mix of PAC-2/PAC-3). CSIS also cites ~$1.27B per new US Patriot battalion excluding missiles. Same figures repeated in CRS IF12297 (Jan 2023). Official figures not published.
    Patriot to Ukraine: What Does It Mean? Center for Strategic and International Studies · Dec 16, 2022
    $1.1BThen-year $ · 1 unit
  • Comparable unit priceNo comparable standalone unit price was established; package or contract totals are shown separately.
    Source not recorded
    Not established

Quantities · 2

  • Historical U.S. Patriot battalionsHistorical force description; battalions are not batteries, launchers, or current ready units.
    FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 budget book · March 2024
    15U.S. only; stated source scope
  • U.S. procurement quantityNo comparable U.S. procurement quantity was established in this review.
    Source not recorded
    Not established

Operating costs · 1

  • Annual operations & supportA complete, system-specific annual operating and support cost was not established. Procurement, replacement rounds and contract support are different measures.
    Source not recorded
    Not established
Earlier observations · 3

Superseded estimates and prices, each in its original scope and dollar basis.

1Army Missile Procurement line 29. Modernization program funding, not a new-battery price; FY2026 is the request.

Budget by fiscal year
Fiscal yearAppropriationRequestEnactedQtyBudget lineSource
FY2027RDT&E$439M———Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026
FY2027Procurement$2.84B———Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026
FY2027Total$3.28B———Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026
FY2026RDT&E$480M$439M——Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026
FY2026Procurement$2.02B$1.30B——Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026
FY2026Total$2.50B$1.74B——Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026
FY2025RDT&E—$338M——Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2026 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller)
FY2025Procurement—$566M——Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2026 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller)
FY2025Total—$904M——Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2026 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller)

Specify what a battery package contains

The Romanian notification enumerates the equipment rather than a universal battery configuration. Launcher count, interceptor type, radar, training and support must be specified before comparing package prices.

A complete Patriot package contains several products

The German award includes radar, launchers, control equipment, spares and support. PAC-3 MSE interceptor and LTAMDS radar costs have separate profiles and cannot be assumed to be included in this award.

Contracts & purchasing · 2

Ceilings, options and purchase agreements are not spending and are never added together. Obligations are under Contracts.

Contracts and purchasing
Buyer → sellerStatusValueQtySource
Romania → RTX / Lockheed MartinOne radar, one engagement-control station, two M903 launch stations, one power plant and support. Notification does not establish a signed sale, a full standard battery price or missile procurement.Maximum proposed FMS package$280M—Romania: proposed Patriot equipment and support sale, $280M DSCA · figure Apr 28, 2025
Germany → RTX / RaytheonPatriot equipment package includes radars, launchers, command-and-control stations, spares and support. Not a standalone battery or interceptor price.Production award announced$1.2B—Germany Patriot $1.2B contract, March 21, 2024 RTX · figure Mar 21, 2024
International buyers · 2
International buyers
CountryQtyStatusSource
RomaniaTwo launch stations are included, not two batteries. The $280M notification includes a radar, control station, power and support.Not verifiedProposed equipment packageRomania: proposed Patriot equipment and support sale, $280M DSCA · figure Apr 28, 2025
GermanyThe manufacturer release does not disclose a system quantity.Not verifiedProduction award announcedGermany Patriot $1.2B contract, March 21, 2024 RTX · figure Mar 21, 2024

Open research: Current U.S. inventory and complete annual operating-and-support costs require additional public evidence. Buyer records are selected examples, not a complete global order book.

What the government budgets and pays for this program, from budget justification books, appropriations, acquisition reports and contract announcements. Each figure states its dollar basis. What contractors were obligated is under Contracts.

Contracts$16.20B obligated since FY2008

Contractors8

  1. RTX$10.69B 66%
  2. Lockheed Martin$5.50B 34%
  3. Honeywell International$7.1M 0.0%
  4. Oshkosh Corporation$5.0M 0.0%
  5. Boeing$547K 0.0%
  6. Northrop Grumman$438K 0.0%
  7. GE Aerospace$171K 0.0%
  8. Leonardo DRS$68K 0.0%

Awards50

Obligations are signed USAspending prime-contract actions coded to this program, FY2008 to date, credited to the company that received each action. Obligations are money committed, not company revenue.

Supply Chain1

Major components and the companies that make them.