
Program · United States
Tomahawk
Long-range cruise missile family launched from naval platforms.
Timeline1
- UpgradeConfirmed
First Block V Tomahawk delivered
Variant delivery within the Tomahawk family; not the first delivery of the original product.
Program and variant milestones. Dates show only the precision the sources give.
Cost to the GovernmentFY2027 request $5.88B
| Measure | Variant | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Program totals · 3 | |||
| Annual RDT&E fundingMissiles & Munitions 5-20. Annual research, development, test and evaluation funding in the March 2024 budget presentation; FY2024 and FY2025 are request figures. Not a lifetime R&D total or actual expenditure. | All | $200.7M / yrNominal $; source budget basis | FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 · FY2025 budget book |
| Procurement and modification fundingIncludes modification programs; do not divide by the 22 new USMC missiles. | Navy | $449.4MNominal $; source budget basis | FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 request |
| Procurement fundingProgram funding associated with 22 requested missiles; support scope differs from the NAVAIR unit figure. | Marine Corps | $115.2MNominal $; source budget basis | FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 request |
| Unit costs · 4 | |||
| Unit cost (per round)CSIS (Cancian & Park): Tomahawks cost $3.6M per shot 'according to the latest Navy budget documents' (FY2026/FY2027 cycle; likely includes Block V/MST configuration content). | All | $3.6MBasis not stated | The 850 Tomahawks Launched in Operation Epic Fury Is the Most Fired in a Single Campaign Center for Strategic and International Studies · Mar 27, 2026 |
| Unit cost (per round)FY2021 Navy budget request unit price for Tactical Tomahawk Block V (base land-attack variant) as reported by The War Zone from official budget documents. Maritime Strike Tomahawk conversion kit: ~$889,681 each (separate line). | All | $1.538MThen-year $ | Here Is What Each Of The Navy's Ship-Launched Missiles Actually Costs The War Zone · Dec 11, 2020 |
| Contract unit priceJapan FMS agreement (signed Jan 2024) for 400 Tomahawks (200 Block IV, 200 Block V) plus control systems, support and training, valued at USD 1.7B. Derived: 1,700,000,000 / 400 = $4.25M per missile including bundled systems/support. DSCA notification (Nov 2023) had estimated $2.35B. | All | $4.25M400 units · JP | Japan purchases 400 Tomahawk cruise missiles Defence Industry Europe · Jan 19, 2024 |
| Approximate Block V / missileNAVAIR approximate unit cost. The fact sheet does not identify this as a recurring flyaway or program-acquisition average. | All | $3.64MFY2026 $ | Tomahawk: Block V approximate unit cost in FY2026 dollars NAVAIR · figure FY2026 dollars |
| Quantities · 2 | |||
| New-round requestUSMC quantity in the weapon-system book; the Navy line primarily supports modification and recertification work. Not total missiles in service. | Marine Corps | 22U.S. only; stated source scope | FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 request · March 2024 |
| U.S. inventoryA current U.S. inventory was not established. Annual procurement, cumulative deliveries and production capacity are not a stockpile count. | All | Not established | — |
| Operating costs · 1 | |||
| Annual operations & supportA complete, system-specific annual operating and support cost was not established. Procurement, replacement rounds and contract support are different measures. | All | Not established | — |
Program totals · 3
- Annual RDT&E fundingMissiles & Munitions 5-20. Annual research, development, test and evaluation funding in the March 2024 budget presentation; FY2024 and FY2025 are request figures. Not a lifetime R&D total or actual expenditure.FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 · FY2025 budget book$200.7M / yrNominal $; source budget basis
- Procurement and modification fundingIncludes modification programs; do not divide by the 22 new USMC missiles.NavyFY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 request$449.4MNominal $; source budget basis
- Procurement fundingProgram funding associated with 22 requested missiles; support scope differs from the NAVAIR unit figure.Marine CorpsFY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 request$115.2MNominal $; source budget basis
Unit costs · 4
- Unit cost (per round)CSIS (Cancian & Park): Tomahawks cost $3.6M per shot 'according to the latest Navy budget documents' (FY2026/FY2027 cycle; likely includes Block V/MST configuration content).The 850 Tomahawks Launched in Operation Epic Fury Is the Most Fired in a Single Campaign Center for Strategic and International Studies · Mar 27, 2026$3.6MBasis not stated
- Unit cost (per round)FY2021 Navy budget request unit price for Tactical Tomahawk Block V (base land-attack variant) as reported by The War Zone from official budget documents. Maritime Strike Tomahawk conversion kit: ~$889,681 each (separate line).Here Is What Each Of The Navy's Ship-Launched Missiles Actually Costs The War Zone · Dec 11, 2020$1.538MThen-year $
- Contract unit priceJapan FMS agreement (signed Jan 2024) for 400 Tomahawks (200 Block IV, 200 Block V) plus control systems, support and training, valued at USD 1.7B. Derived: 1,700,000,000 / 400 = $4.25M per missile including bundled systems/support. DSCA notification (Nov 2023) had estimated $2.35B.Japan purchases 400 Tomahawk cruise missiles Defence Industry Europe · Jan 19, 2024$4.25M400 units · JP
- Approximate Block V / missileNAVAIR approximate unit cost. The fact sheet does not identify this as a recurring flyaway or program-acquisition average.Tomahawk: Block V approximate unit cost in FY2026 dollars NAVAIR · figure FY2026 dollars$3.64MFY2026 $
Quantities · 2
- New-round requestUSMC quantity in the weapon-system book; the Navy line primarily supports modification and recertification work. Not total missiles in service.Marine CorpsFY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 request · March 202422U.S. only; stated source scope
- U.S. inventoryA current U.S. inventory was not established. Annual procurement, cumulative deliveries and production capacity are not a stockpile count.Source not recordedNot established
Operating costs · 1
- Annual operations & supportA complete, system-specific annual operating and support cost was not established. Procurement, replacement rounds and contract support are different measures.Source not recordedNot established
Earlier observations · 5
Superseded estimates and prices, each in its original scope and dollar basis.
| Measure | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Program totals · 3 | ||
| Annual RDT&E funding1 | $119.8M / yrNominal $; source budget basis | FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2023 · FY2025 budget book |
| Annual RDT&E funding1 | $122.8M / yrNominal $; source budget basis | FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2024 · FY2025 budget book |
| Annual RDT&E funding1 | $200.7M / yrNominal $; source budget basis | FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 · FY2025 budget book |
| Unit costs · 2 | ||
| Unit cost (per round)Army Mid-Range Capability (Typhon) Tomahawk buy, FY 2027 request P-5: Tactical Tomahawk $2,178.367K for 30 (Maritime Strike Tomahawk $3,823.467K for 30). Navy WPN book (main Tomahawk buyer) not machine-fetchable. | $2.178MThen-year $ · 30 units | Army FY 2027 Budget Estimates: Missile Procurement, Army Justification Book U.S. Army, Assistant Secretary of the Army (Financial Management and Comptroller) |
| Approximate Block V / missileNAVAIR approximate unit cost. The fact sheet does not identify this as a recurring flyaway or program-acquisition average. | $3.64MFY2026 $ | Tomahawk: Block V approximate unit cost in FY2026 dollars NAVAIR · figure FY2026 dollars |
Program totals · 3
- Annual RDT&E funding1FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2023 · FY2025 budget book$119.8M / yrNominal $; source budget basis
- Annual RDT&E funding1FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2024 · FY2025 budget book$122.8M / yrNominal $; source budget basis
- Annual RDT&E funding1FY2025 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System DoD Comptroller · Mar 2024 · figure FY2025 · FY2025 budget book$200.7M / yrNominal $; source budget basis
Unit costs · 2
- Unit cost (per round)Army Mid-Range Capability (Typhon) Tomahawk buy, FY 2027 request P-5: Tactical Tomahawk $2,178.367K for 30 (Maritime Strike Tomahawk $3,823.467K for 30). Navy WPN book (main Tomahawk buyer) not machine-fetchable.Army FY 2027 Budget Estimates: Missile Procurement, Army Justification Book U.S. Army, Assistant Secretary of the Army (Financial Management and Comptroller)$2.178MThen-year $ · 30 units
- Approximate Block V / missileNAVAIR approximate unit cost. The fact sheet does not identify this as a recurring flyaway or program-acquisition average.Tomahawk: Block V approximate unit cost in FY2026 dollars NAVAIR · figure FY2026 dollars$3.64MFY2026 $
1Missiles & Munitions 5-20. Annual research, development, test and evaluation funding in the March 2024 budget presentation; FY2024 and FY2025 are request figures. Not a lifetime R&D total or actual expenditure.
| Fiscal year | Appropriation | Request | Enacted | Qty | Budget line | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2027 | RDT&E | $76.7M | — | — | — | Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026 |
| FY2027 | Procurement | $5.80B | — | 785 | — | Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026 |
| FY2027 | Total | $5.88B | — | 785 | — | Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026 |
| FY2026 | RDT&E | $151M | $214M | — | — | Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026 |
| FY2026 | Procurement | $795M | $1.04B | 55 | — | Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026 |
| FY2026 | Total | $946M | $1.25B | 55 | — | Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2027 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) · Apr 21, 2026 |
| FY2025 | RDT&E | — | $166M | — | — | Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2026 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) |
| FY2025 | Procurement | — | $542M | 22 | — | Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2026 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) |
| FY2025 | Total | — | $708M | 22 | — | Program Acquisition Cost by Weapon System: Fiscal Year 2026 Budget Request Office of the Under Secretary of War (Comptroller) |
Recertification is different from a new missile
The Navy and Marine Corps budget lines combine different procurement and modification work. A package containing control systems, training and support cannot be divided into a clean missile hardware price.
Contracts & purchasing · 1
Ceilings, options and purchase agreements are not spending and are never added together. Obligations are under Contracts.
| Buyer → seller | Status | Value | Qty | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Japan → RTX / RaytheonUp to 200 Block IV and 200 Block V rounds plus 14 control systems and substantial support. Congressional notification is not a signed contract or delivered inventory. | Maximum proposed FMS package | $2.35B | 400 | Japan: proposed 400 Tomahawks and 14 control systems, $2.35B DSCA · figure Nov 17, 2023 |
International buyers · 1
| Country | Qty | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| JapanHistorical notification: 200 Block IV plus 200 Block V. Subsequent deliveries are not verified here. | 400 | Maximum proposed FMS quantity | Japan: proposed 400 Tomahawks and 14 control systems, $2.35B DSCA · figure Nov 17, 2023 |
Open research: Current U.S. inventory and complete annual operating-and-support costs require additional public evidence. Buyer records are selected examples, not a complete global order book. The displayed R&D reference is annual funding or a specified multi-year request window, not a verified lifetime total.
What the government budgets and pays for this program, from budget justification books, appropriations, acquisition reports and contract announcements. Each figure states its dollar basis. What contractors were obligated is under Contracts.
Contracts$72.4M obligated since FY2008
Contractors3
- RTX$68.1M 94%
- Boeing$4.2M 5.8%
- GE Aerospace$165K 0.2%
Awards50
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 26, 2014$80Kobligated · up to $80K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 19, 2014$58Kobligated · up to $58K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 18, 2014$36Kobligated · up to $36K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 18, 2014$21Kobligated · up to $21K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 17, 2014$25Kobligated · up to $25K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 16, 2014$580Kobligated · up to $580K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 16, 2014$150Kobligated · up to $150K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 15, 2014$527Kobligated · up to $527K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 15, 2014$423Kobligated
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 8, 2014$144Kobligated · up to $144K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 8, 2014$132Kobligated · up to $132K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 8, 2014$81Kobligated · up to $81K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 8, 2014$69Kobligated · up to $69K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 8, 2014$69Kobligated
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 8, 2014$62Kobligated · up to $62K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 8, 2014$28Kobligated · up to $28K ceiling
- RTXIGF::OT::IGF FY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Sep 8, 2014$25Kobligated
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Aug 27, 2013$77Kobligated · up to $77K ceiling
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Aug 27, 2013$33Kobligated · up to $33K ceiling
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Aug 27, 2013$23Kobligated
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Aug 20, 2013$56Kobligated · up to $56K ceiling
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Aug 15, 2013$25Kobligated · up to $25K ceiling
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Jul 23, 2013$18Kobligated · up to $18K ceiling
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Jul 18, 2013$24Kobligated · up to $24K ceiling
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Jun 12, 2013$52Kobligated
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · May 2, 2013$110Kobligated · up to $110K ceiling
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Apr 15, 2013$23Kobligated · up to $23K ceiling
- RTXFY13 TOMAHAWK DEPOTDefense Contract Management Agency · Delivery Order · Mar 28, 2013$167Kobligated · up to $167K ceiling
- RTXENGINEERING SUPPORT SERVICES (ESS) FOR DELAY DETONATOR TRADE STUDYU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Sep 24, 2012$219Kobligated
- RTXENGINEERING SUPPORT SERVICES (ESS)- PERFORMANCE ASSESSMENT OF EXTENDED R/UGM 109D TRANSFER LINE DELAY TIMES AND EXTENDED 109D PAYLOAD COVER THRUSTER REACTION TIMESU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Sep 18, 2012$38Kobligated
- RTXENGINEERING SUPPORT SERVICES (ESS)--FACT BOOKU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Aug 24, 2012$122Kobligated · up to $122K ceiling
- RTXENGINEERING SUPPORT SERVICES (ESS)--GTS MIGRATIONU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Aug 24, 2012$55Kobligated
- RTXENGINEERING SUPPORT SERVICES (ESS)U.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Apr 19, 2012$225Kobligated
- RTXFY12 US SUSTAINING ENGINEERING SUPPORT SERVICES (ESS)U.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Jan 31, 2012$1.3Mobligated · up to $1.3M ceiling
- RTXFY12 UK SUSTAINING ENGINEERING SUPPORT SERVICES (ESS)U.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Jan 31, 2012$62Kobligated
- RTXFY12 FULL RECERTIFICATIONU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Dec 22, 2011$26.2Mobligated
- RTXCCLS MK45 CUSHIONING PAD REMOVAL MACHINEU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Sep 27, 2011$257Kobligated
- RTXOPTIMIZATION OF THE ANTI-JAM GLOBAL POSITION SYSTEM (GPS) RECEIVER (AGR 3) SATTELITE OPERATION; CONTRACT N00019-07-D-0001.U.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Sep 27, 2011$160Kobligated
- RTXSEIA EMERGENT US SHIPPING NUT ECPU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Sep 27, 2011$26Kobligated
- RTXEMERGENT SEIA LABOR HOURSU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Jul 11, 2011$77Kobligated
- RTXEMERGENT SEIA LABOR HOURS NTE 400U.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Jul 1, 2011$54Kobligated
- RTXEMERGENT SEIA FOR IN-RUSH TESTINGU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Apr 8, 2011$29Kobligated
- RTXMATERIAL AND SERVICES NECESSARY TO PERFORM ONE POST OTLU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Mar 4, 2011$17Kobligated · up to $17K ceiling
- RTXMATERIAL AND SERVICES NECESSARY TO PERFORM ONE POST OTLU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Mar 4, 2011$17Kobligated · up to $17K ceiling
- RTXSEIA FOR FY11 DEPOT SUSTAININGU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Jan 4, 2011$1.4Mobligated
- RTXMATERIAL AND SERVICES NECESSARY FOR FULL TOMAHAWK RECERTS FOR FY11U.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Dec 13, 2010$33.5Mobligated
- RTXFY11 PRE/POST FLIGHT OTL SUPPORTU.S. Navy · Delivery Order · Nov 30, 2010$1.1Mobligated · up to $1.1M ceiling
- BoeingAPACHE SPARES.U.S. Army · Delivery Order · Aug 19, 2009$75Kobligated · up to $75K ceiling
- BoeingAPACHE SPARES.U.S. Army · Delivery Order · Feb 26, 2009$4.1Mobligated
- GE AerospaceCOOLER, LUBRICATING; UH-60U.S. Army · Delivery Order · Dec 30, 2008$165Kobligated · up to $412K ceiling
Obligations are signed USAspending prime-contract actions coded to this program, FY2008 to date, credited to the company that received each action. Obligations are money committed, not company revenue.
