
F-35A Lightning II
Conventional takeoff and landing variant of the F-35 stealth multirole fighter.
- Combat use
- Apr 30, 2019
Photo: U.S. Air Force photo by Airman Annika Schermerhorn · Public domain (PD-USGov-Military-Air Force)

Program · United States · U.S. Department of War
Fifth-generation multirole stealth fighter family (F-35A, F-35B and F-35C) whose life-cycle program management is led by the F-35 Lightning II Joint Program Office for the U.S. Air Force, Navy, Marine Corps, international partners and foreign military sales customers. Lockheed Martin is the prime contractor and the aircraft is powered by the Pratt & Whitney F135 engine. The program entered System Development and Demonstration on October 26, 2001, and aircraft remain in production.

Conventional takeoff and landing variant of the F-35 stealth multirole fighter.
Photo: U.S. Air Force photo by Airman Annika Schermerhorn · Public domain (PD-USGov-Military-Air Force)
Short takeoff and vertical landing variant of the F-35 stealth multirole fighter.
Carrier-based variant of the F-35 stealth multirole fighter.
Each variant has its own page with its first flight, entry into service, unit cost and operators.
Aircraft · Lockheed Martin / Pratt & Whitney
Separate the three variants, airframe and engine programs, and acquisition from decades of sustainment.
F-35A recurring flyaway estimate
$62.2M
2023-12 · Constant CY2012 USD
SAR life-of-program estimate includes engine and assumes 918 international sales. F-35B: $74.6M; F-35C: $77.2M in the same basis. Not a current lot quote.
CRS ↗Approximate U.S. inventory
630
2024-04 report · U.S. only
All variants, as reported by GAO. This historical snapshot is not today's fleet count.
GAO ↗U.S. acquisition plan
2,470
2023-12 · U.S. only
2,456 production aircraft plus 14 development aircraft in the cited SAR.
CRS ↗Airframe R&D total
$71.3B
2023-12 · Then-year USD
Airframe subprogram only; do not label this all-in airframe-plus-engine R&D.
CRS ↗F-35A projected recurring flyaway
$62.2M
2023-12 SAR via CRS 2024 · Constant CY2012 USD
Includes specified hardware and engine; assumes U.S. and international production over the program. Not a specific production-lot award.
CRS ↗F-35B projected recurring flyaway
$74.6M
2023-12 SAR via CRS 2024 · Constant CY2012 USD
Includes specified hardware and engine; assumes U.S. and international production over the program. Not a specific production-lot award.
CRS ↗F-35C projected recurring flyaway
$77.2M
2023-12 SAR via CRS 2024 · Constant CY2012 USD
Includes specified hardware and engine; assumes U.S. and international production over the program. Not a specific production-lot award.
CRS ↗Air Force F-35A planned purchases
1,763
2024-12 CRS · U.S. only
Acquisition objective, not delivered or operational aircraft.
CRS ↗Marine Corps F-35B planned purchases
353
2024-12 CRS · U.S. only
Acquisition objective, not delivered or operational aircraft.
CRS ↗Navy F-35C planned purchases
273
2024-12 CRS · U.S. only
Acquisition objective, not delivered or operational aircraft.
CRS ↗Marine Corps F-35C planned purchases
67
2024-12 CRS · U.S. only
Acquisition objective, not delivered or operational aircraft.
CRS ↗F-35A conventional operations, F-35B short takeoff / vertical landing and F-35C carrier operations have separate hardware and support requirements. The recurring flyaway estimates above share one dollar year and program-estimate methodology. Service purchase objectives are not current fleet counts.
Projected O&S / F-35A / year
$6.6M / yr
2023 estimate; 2024 report · Dollar basis not specified in summary
Projected annual cost per Air Force aircraft. Not a realized annual bill.
GAO ↗Fleet lifetime sustainment
$1.58T
2023 estimate · Dollar basis not specified in summary
Across U.S. variants through 2088. Excludes acquisition; longer service life partly explains the increase.
GAO ↗F-35A reimbursement / flight hour
$18,600 / hr
FY2026 · Nominal USD; other DoD component
Published reimbursement rate for use by another DoD component. This is a billing rate, not the fully burdened cost of ownership.
DoD Comptroller ↗F-35B reimbursement / flight hour
$23,155 / hr
FY2026 · Nominal USD; Other DoD Component
Billing rate, not fully burdened ownership cost.
DoD Comptroller ↗F-35C Navy reimbursement / flight hour
$17,602 / hr
FY2026 · Nominal USD; Other DoD Component
Billing rate, not fully burdened ownership cost.
DoD Comptroller ↗F-35C Marine Corps reimbursement / flight hour
$17,925 / hr
FY2026 · Nominal USD; Other DoD Component
Billing rate, not fully burdened ownership cost.
DoD Comptroller ↗Each row retains its original scope and dollar basis. Changing quantities, service life and inflation can change the estimate without changing the price of building one unit.
| Observation | Measure | Amount | Dollar basis | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 estimate | Fleet lifetime sustainment Earlier estimate has a shorter operating horizon. | $1.1T | Source estimate; horizon differs | GAO ↗ |
| 2023 estimate | Fleet lifetime sustainment GAO reports 44% growth; scope and service-life changes mean this is not pure unit-cost inflation. | $1.58T | Source estimate; through 2088 | GAO ↗ |
| FY2025 | F-35A reimbursement / flight hour Published reimbursement rate for use by another DoD component. This is a billing rate, not the fully burdened cost of ownership. | $17,035 / hr | Nominal USD; other DoD component | DoD Comptroller ↗ |
| FY2026 | F-35A reimbursement / flight hour Published reimbursement rate for use by another DoD component. This is a billing rate, not the fully burdened cost of ownership. | $18,600 / hr | Nominal USD; other DoD component | DoD Comptroller ↗ |
Award values, ceilings and purchase agreements have different meanings. These records are not added together as total spending.
2023 · Engine production contract
U.S. F-35 program → Pratt & Whitney
$5.2B · 278 units in scope
F135 engine agreement; additional-year option could raise the amount to about $8B. Do not add the option as awarded spending.
CRS ↗Finland · 64 · Reported order · 2024-12
F-35A; CRS Table 3 snapshot, not delivered count.
CRS ↗Germany · 35 · Reported order · 2024-12
F-35A; CRS Table 3 snapshot, not delivered count.
CRS ↗Poland · 32 · Reported order · 2024-12
F-35A; CRS Table 3 snapshot, not delivered count.
CRS ↗Sustainment (operating and support) cost estimate through 2088, GAO-24-106703 (April 2024) as cited by CRS; sustainment only, not acquisition.
Dec 2023 F-35 SAR via CRS: then-year development + procurement + MilCon for airframe ($401.1B) plus engine ($84.1B). In constant FY2012 dollars the airframe subprogram is ~$291.8B.
F-35A average price for Lots 18-19 as confirmed by the F-35 JPO to Breaking Defense (reported Sept 2026); up 11.5% from $82.5M in Lots 15-17. Same reports: F-35B $121.4M (from $109M), F-35C $110.8M (from $102.1M). Recorded for the F-35A variant.
Average procurement unit cost as of the December 2023 SAR, constant CY2012 dollars (via CRS R48304).
Program acquisition unit cost as of the December 2023 SAR, constant CY2012 dollars (via CRS R48304).
Lots 18-19 definitized Sept 29, 2025: $24.29B for 296 airframes, average $82.4M per airframe across all variants and customers (Air & Space Forces Magazine calculation). Excludes F135 engines (GFE).
Lot 18 undefinitized contract action (Dec 2024), not-to-exceed $11.76B for 145 aircraft: average $81.1M per airframe (excludes engines), per Air & Space Forces Magazine.
SourceF-35A average flyaway cost for Lots 15-17 (delivered CY2023-2025) per F-35 JPO spokesman Russ Goemaere to Breaking Defense; F-35B $109M and F-35C $102.1M for the same lots. JPO flyaway = airframe, vehicle systems, mission systems, engine and ECO costs.
SourceF-35A average unit recurring flyaway cost (Dec 2023 SAR, CY2012 $), assuming 918 international sales; F-35B $74.6M, F-35C $77.2M.
Source| Fiscal year | Appropriation | Request | Enacted | Qty | Budget line | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2027 | RDT&E | $4.49B | — | — | — | SourceConfirmed |
| FY2027 | Procurement | $16.89B | — | 85 | — | SourceConfirmed |
| FY2027 | Total | $21.38B | — | 85 | — | SourceConfirmed |
| FY2026 | RDT&E | $2.20B | $1.81B | — | — | SourceConfirmed |
| FY2026 | Procurement | $10.92B | $11.42B | 47 | — | SourceConfirmed |
| FY2026 | Total | $13.12B | $13.23B | 47 | — | SourceConfirmed |
| FY2025 | RDT&E | — | $2.13B | — | — | SourceConfirmed |
| FY2025 | Procurement | — | $11.21B | 74 | — | SourceConfirmed |
| FY2025 | Total | — | $13.33B | 74 | — | SourceConfirmed |
What the government budgets and pays for this program, from budget justification books, appropriations, acquisition reports and contract announcements. Each figure states its dollar basis. What contractors were obligated is under Contracts.
Obligations are signed USAspending prime-contract actions coded to this program, FY2008 to date, credited to the company that received each action. Obligations are money committed, not company revenue.
F-35A completes first flight
First flight of the conventional-takeoff F-35A; this does not date the earlier X-35 demonstrator or later F-35B/C first flights.
F-35B completes first flight
First flight of the short-takeoff/vertical-landing F-35B variant; distinct from both the X-35B demonstrator and the earlier F-35A flight.
F-35C completes first flight
First flight of the carrier variant, separately dated from the F-35A and F-35B.
USAF accepts first production F-35A
Formal acceptance of AF-7 took place at Fort Worth on May 5; the aircraft flew to Edwards the next day for flight testing. This was not operational readiness.
First international F-35 delivered to United Kingdom
The first international delivery was an F-35B for the United Kingdom; delivery does not indicate UK operational capability.
Marine Corps declares F-35B IOC
Variant-specific IOC; not a declaration for the entire F-35 family.
USAF declares F-35A initial operational capability
The conventional-takeoff F-35A met the Air Force’s initial readiness criteria. This declaration is variant- and operator-specific.
US Marine Corps F-35B conducts first combat strikes
Marine Corps F-35Bs struck targets in Afghanistan during Operation Freedom’s Sentinel. This dates US F-35B combat use, not the first combat use by every F-35 operator.
US Navy declares F-35C initial operational capability
The carrier variant achieved IOC after VFA-147 completed carrier qualifications and safe-for-flight certification.
USAF F-35As conduct first combat strike
Two USAF F-35As struck an ISIS tunnel network and weapons cache in Iraq. This is the US Air Force milestone, not the Israeli F-35I combat debut.
F-35 program delivers 191 aircraft during 2025
Lockheed Martin reported 191 deliveries across the family for calendar year 2025. This is an annual production-delivery milestone, not a claim that all aircraft shared the same software configuration.
Program and variant milestones. Dates show only the precision the sources give.

Pratt & Whitney propulsion family for all three F-35 variants.
Photo: U.S. Air Force photo by Jill Pickett · Public domain (PD-USGov-Military)
Major components and the companies that make them.