Program · United States · U.S. Air Force
Hypersonic Attack Cruise Missile (HACM)
Hypersonic Attack Cruise Missile (HACM) · Development · U.S. Air Force
Cost to the Government
| Measure | Variant | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Program totals · 2 | |||
| Annual RDT&E fundingR-1 PE0604183F HACM. Annual appropriation scope, not lifetime development cost. FY2026 includes the listed reconciliation spend plan; FY2027 includes discretionary and mandatory requests where present. Budget execution and requests are distinct measures. | All | $806.142M / yrNominal $; source budget basis | FY2027 R-1: Research, Development, Test & Evaluation Department of Defense Comptroller · Apr 2026 · figure FY2027 total request · PB2027 |
| Procurement requestProgram funding. The public book does not disclose missile quantities; no per-round price is derived. | Air Force | $403.974MNominal $; source budget basis | FY2027 Missile Procurement, Air Force: discretionary and mandatory requests U.S. Air Force · Apr 2026 · figure FY2027 |
| Unit costs · 1 | |||
| Comparable unit priceNo comparable standalone unit price was established; package or contract totals are shown separately. | All | Not established | — |
| Quantities · 2 | |||
| U.S. inventoryA current U.S. inventory was not established. Annual procurement, cumulative deliveries and production capacity are not a stockpile count. | All | Not established | — |
| U.S. procurement quantityProcurement quantities are not disclosed in the public Air Force budget. They are not inferred from funding or prototype deliveries. | All | Not established | FY2027 Missile Procurement, Air Force: discretionary and mandatory requests U.S. Air Force · Apr 2026 |
| Operating costs · 1 | |||
| Annual operations & supportA complete, system-specific annual operating and support cost was not established. Procurement, replacement rounds and contract support are different measures. | All | Not established | — |
Program totals · 2
- Annual RDT&E fundingR-1 PE0604183F HACM. Annual appropriation scope, not lifetime development cost. FY2026 includes the listed reconciliation spend plan; FY2027 includes discretionary and mandatory requests where present. Budget execution and requests are distinct measures.FY2027 R-1: Research, Development, Test & Evaluation Department of Defense Comptroller · Apr 2026 · figure FY2027 total request · PB2027$806.142M / yrNominal $; source budget basis
- Procurement requestProgram funding. The public book does not disclose missile quantities; no per-round price is derived.Air ForceFY2027 Missile Procurement, Air Force: discretionary and mandatory requests U.S. Air Force · Apr 2026 · figure FY2027$403.974MNominal $; source budget basis
Unit costs · 1
- Comparable unit priceNo comparable standalone unit price was established; package or contract totals are shown separately.Source not recordedNot established
Quantities · 2
- U.S. inventoryA current U.S. inventory was not established. Annual procurement, cumulative deliveries and production capacity are not a stockpile count.Source not recordedNot established
- U.S. procurement quantityProcurement quantities are not disclosed in the public Air Force budget. They are not inferred from funding or prototype deliveries.FY2027 Missile Procurement, Air Force: discretionary and mandatory requests U.S. Air Force · Apr 2026Not established
Operating costs · 1
- Annual operations & supportA complete, system-specific annual operating and support cost was not established. Procurement, replacement rounds and contract support are different measures.Source not recordedNot established
Earlier observations · 3
Superseded estimates and prices, each in its original scope and dollar basis.
| Measure | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Annual RDT&E funding1 | $452.8M / yrNominal $; source budget basis | FY2027 R-1: Research, Development, Test & Evaluation Department of Defense Comptroller · Apr 2026 · figure FY2025 actual · PB2027 |
| Annual RDT&E funding1 | $828.075M / yrNominal $; source budget basis | FY2027 R-1: Research, Development, Test & Evaluation Department of Defense Comptroller · Apr 2026 · figure FY2026 total enacted / spend plan · PB2027 |
| Annual RDT&E funding1 | $806.142M / yrNominal $; source budget basis | FY2027 R-1: Research, Development, Test & Evaluation Department of Defense Comptroller · Apr 2026 · figure FY2027 total request · PB2027 |
- Annual RDT&E funding1FY2027 R-1: Research, Development, Test & Evaluation Department of Defense Comptroller · Apr 2026 · figure FY2025 actual · PB2027$452.8M / yrNominal $; source budget basis
- Annual RDT&E funding1FY2027 R-1: Research, Development, Test & Evaluation Department of Defense Comptroller · Apr 2026 · figure FY2026 total enacted / spend plan · PB2027$828.075M / yrNominal $; source budget basis
- Annual RDT&E funding1FY2027 R-1: Research, Development, Test & Evaluation Department of Defense Comptroller · Apr 2026 · figure FY2027 total request · PB2027$806.142M / yrNominal $; source budget basis
1R-1 PE0604183F HACM. Annual appropriation scope, not lifetime development cost. FY2026 includes the listed reconciliation spend plan; FY2027 includes discretionary and mandatory requests where present. Budget execution and requests are distinct measures.
A development award cannot establish missile unit cost
The award covers design, engineering, testing and initial assets. Dividing it by a small prototype count would misrepresent a recurring production price. Australia’s research participation is recorded separately from orders.
Contracts & purchasing · 1
Ceilings, options and purchase agreements are not spending and are never added together. Obligations are under Contracts.
| Buyer → seller | Status | Value | Qty | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. Air Force → RaytheonDesign, development and initial delivery scope. Planned leave-behind assets are not a production-quantity denominator. | Development contract award | $985.348M | — | Air Force announces hypersonic missile contract award U.S. Air Force · Sep 2022 |
International buyers · 1
| Country | Qty | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| AustraliaSCIFiRE collaboration supports development; no Australian missile purchase quantity is established. | Not verified | Research partner · not a purchase | Air Force announces hypersonic missile contract award U.S. Air Force · Sep 2022 · figure 2022 announcement |
Open research: Public procurement quantities and a comparable missile unit cost are unavailable in the reviewed budget. Operational inventory, complete support costs and lifetime development total remain unverified.
What the government budgets and pays for this program, from budget justification books, appropriations, acquisition reports and contract announcements. Each figure states its dollar basis. What contractors were obligated is under Contracts.
No participants, contracts or systems recorded for this program yet.
