Program · United States · U.S. Navy
E-6B Mercury
E-6B Mercury · Fielded · U.S. Navy
Cost to the Government
| Measure | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Program totals · 1 | ||
| Development program totalA separately scoped historical development total has not been verified. | Not established | — |
| Unit costs · 1 | ||
| Reported aircraft unit costPublished legacy figure; not a current replacement price. | $141.7MDollar year not stated | E-6B Mercury airborne command post fact sheet U.S. Navy · figure Navy fact sheet, reviewed Oct 2026 |
| Quantities · 2 | ||
| Operational fleet scopeBudget narrative identifies 16 E-6Bs, separately from one TE-6B trainer planned for FY2024. | 16U.S. only | FY2024 Navy O&M budget, Aviation Logistics E-6B fleet scope U.S. Navy · figure FY2024 budget, March 2023 |
| Program quantityA separate acquisition quantity has not been verified. | Not established | — |
| Operating costs · 1 | ||
| Annual O&S / entire E-6B fleetGAO total fleet cost. Per-aircraft presentations have differing denominators, so this page retains the fleet total. | $489.34M / yrConstant FY2018 $ | Weapon System Sustainment: GAO-21-101SP, FY2011–2018 operating costs GAO · figure FY2018 |
Program totals · 1
- Development program totalA separately scoped historical development total has not been verified.Source not recordedNot established
Unit costs · 1
- Reported aircraft unit costPublished legacy figure; not a current replacement price.E-6B Mercury airborne command post fact sheet U.S. Navy · figure Navy fact sheet, reviewed Oct 2026$141.7MDollar year not stated
Quantities · 2
- Operational fleet scopeBudget narrative identifies 16 E-6Bs, separately from one TE-6B trainer planned for FY2024.FY2024 Navy O&M budget, Aviation Logistics E-6B fleet scope U.S. Navy · figure FY2024 budget, March 202316U.S. only
- Program quantityA separate acquisition quantity has not been verified.Source not recordedNot established
Operating costs · 1
- Annual O&S / entire E-6B fleetGAO total fleet cost. Per-aircraft presentations have differing denominators, so this page retains the fleet total.Weapon System Sustainment: GAO-21-101SP, FY2011–2018 operating costs GAO · figure FY2018$489.34M / yrConstant FY2018 $
Earlier observations · 2
Superseded estimates and prices, each in its original scope and dollar basis.
| Measure | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Annual O&S / entire E-6B fleetSame GAO fleet-cost series. | $447.45M / yrConstant FY2018 $ | Weapon System Sustainment: GAO-21-101SP, FY2011–2018 operating costs GAO · figure FY2011 |
| Annual O&S / entire E-6B fleetGAO total fleet cost. Per-aircraft presentations have differing denominators, so this page retains the fleet total. | $489.34M / yrConstant FY2018 $ | Weapon System Sustainment: GAO-21-101SP, FY2011–2018 operating costs GAO · figure FY2018 |
- Annual O&S / entire E-6B fleetSame GAO fleet-cost series.Weapon System Sustainment: GAO-21-101SP, FY2011–2018 operating costs GAO · figure FY2011$447.45M / yrConstant FY2018 $
- Annual O&S / entire E-6B fleetGAO total fleet cost. Per-aircraft presentations have differing denominators, so this page retains the fleet total.Weapon System Sustainment: GAO-21-101SP, FY2011–2018 operating costs GAO · figure FY2018$489.34M / yrConstant FY2018 $
A fleet total is not a per-aircraft cost
The operating figure covers the whole fleet. It is deliberately not placed on the same per-aircraft basis as other types without reconciling the denominator.
Contracts & purchasing · 1
Ceilings, options and purchase agreements are not spending and are never added together. Obligations are under Contracts.
| Buyer → seller | Status | Value | Qty | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. Navy → Northrop GrummanBlock II modifications for multiple aircraft through 2027; six modifications means six capabilities, not six aircraft. | Integrated modification and maintenance contract | $111M | — | E-6B Block II integrated modification and maintenance, June 6, 2023 NAVAIR · figure Jun 6, 2023 report |
Open research: Separately scoped historical R&D total remains unverified; missing is not zero. Quantity and cost figures retain their source dates. Historical snapshots are not a census of operational availability on the review date. No international purchase record verified in this profile; this is not proof that no foreign operators exist.
What the government budgets and pays for this program, from budget justification books, appropriations, acquisition reports and contract announcements. Each figure states its dollar basis. What contractors were obligated is under Contracts.
No participants, contracts or systems recorded for this program yet.
